What would you do if you were not afraid to fail?

time-will-pass-dream-big-picture-quote

So often we fail to start a project, a business, a plan or to execute a great idea because of the negative self talk in our minds.  We think that we should wait until tomorrow, next week, next month or next year but that’s an illusion…

We are deceiving ourselves if we think that we have time to wait for anything.  Life is happening now.  The time you spend waiting and dreaming is the same time that other people are taking chances and getting a step closer to their destiny.

I saw a Dominos Pizza commercial last night where the CEO admitted that they have failed at some of their innovative ideas but he reminds the viewers that if they had not tried to do things differently, they would be in same place with the same product that they always had.

If you have a dream, it is ok to step out on faith (with a plan) and try to make it a reality.  You won’t succeed at everything that you try.  Some of my past failures still hurt my heart a little bit but I learned a lesson from each of them and got up to try again with a little more wisdom and some experience.  You won’t know what you can or can’t do until you try.

Bishop Richard Keith Thompson asked me in August why wasn’t I going to seminary and I honestly had no reply.  He and I both knew that continuing my theological education was something that I needed to do but in my mind, it was something that I would get around to.  And then he said, “Why not do it now?  Three or four years will pass anyway, the difference will be whether you have a degree or not…”

Just like that I was convicted… He was absolutely right… So many times we think later but later will come and what will be different?

Taking his advice, I applied to Beeson Divinity School at Samford University and was accepted into their Fall 2014 class (with a scholarship!!).  Exactly, one year from our conversation, I will be executing the idea that we discussed.  That year could have passed with me still thinking one day but instead I stepped out on faith to try to make it a reality.  Even if I had been rejected, at least I would have tried…

So, today… Examine some of the things that you say you want in life and really ask yourself, am I doing the things necessary to make my dreams a reality or am I just dreaming?  Am I waiting for a one day that will come and go yet I will be no closer than I was before?

The road to your destiny won’t be easy but it will be worth it if you are able to appreciate all of the moments you stumble and fall as much as you appreciate the moments that you are flying high toward success.

 

What do you think?

