Every Super Woman Needs A Super Man

Although I’m not a Rick Ross fan (shocker), this song replays in my mind more often than I am actually comfortable admitting.  But after reading the lyrics – http://www.metrolyrics.com/here-i-am-lyrics-rick-ross.html – I realized that it’s not the song but the concept that every super woman needs a super man that has stuck with me.

As a self-proclaimed super woman – minister, author, mom, entrepreneur, community person – I definitely need a super man in my life.

super couple

Yeah, I can say it… An ordinary man just won’t do for me.  I want someone who will match my drive in business, someone who is intentional about investing time in his family, who wants to make a difference in his community AND who makes time for his relationship with God.  Sounds like a lot? It is… hence the need for a super man.

I have noticed that a lot of people, not just men OR women, are complacent in life.  And so many more are living their dreams through social media.  They post about these uptopic situations but off-line aren’t doing anything to achieve the dreams they constantly promote.

I can’t be the only one who has noticed this.

With social media being the consistent point of reference many of us have for getting to know a person, we often see people living these super lives online and then you meet for dinner and actually start discussing life, goals and all that other important stuff only to find out that its all a dream.  I’m not here to down the dreamers of the world but some people need the doers, the ones who aren’t afraid to leap from a tall building to start a business or to rush into traffic to get to their kids’ school on time.

So… what’s so great about super people being together?  Being super is hard work!  If you’re not with an overachiever, then you have someone in your ear saying, you don’t have to do all that, they’re meeting AGAIN, you’re doing too much when you really want to hear that everything is going to be ok, I’ve got the kids tonight, don’t pay any attention to the naysayers because you’ve got this.  Super people can come home, take off their capes, remove the masks and let the insecurities hang out without fear of losing their super status.

I love the Marvel superheros but it always makes me kinda sad toward the end when they break up with their love interest at the end of the movie.  These break ups happen because they know that super people and ordinary people can’t work.  Dang, isn’t that harsh??? But think about it… Wouldn’t it be hard to commit to someone who is at home vegging out on reality tv while you’re trying to save the world?

Anyway, that’s my two cents… What do you think? Can a super woman/man find happily ever after with a mere mortal?

 

What do you think?

