Is love enough?

Image courtsey of thiscannotbemylife.wordpress.com

Image courtesy of thiscannotbemylife

I love you…

The words flow so easily from your mouth but your heart wonders if love is enough…

I love you…

The words are so harmless when uttered but so powerful when felt…

I love you…

The words can cause your heart to rejoice when felt true but break your heart to pieces when known untrue…

I love you…

The words flowed like honey from my lips although I knew in my heart that the love I felt was not enough to sustain our relationship.

“I love you too,” he said casually like the hundreds of times before.  I knew that our love had become more of a formality than a feeling.  I didn’t see the joy in his eyes as I had before.  Instead they darted around the room while I searched for my place in his heart.

Sometimes you can love a person with all of your heart but it isn’t always enough to keep you together.  You can love that person from the depths of your soul but if they don’t love you back, your love will not be enough.  I loved him so much until I believed that my love alone would be enough to bind us together.  I didn’t think it mattered whether he meant it or not when he proclaimed his feelings for me.  I prayed for the strength to carry us through but instead gained the wisdom that love is a shared emotion.  It is a two-way street filled with bumps, curves, twists and turns. Love is a wonderful ride when traveling with someone who loves you too…

5 thoughts on “Is love enough?

  1. Frank Jackson says:

    More than love I couple need respect. You will fall in and out of love throughout a relationship, but as long as your respect for each other with stands all, you will always show your love for each other.

    Like

  2. “Sometimes you can love a person with all of your heart but it isn’t always enough to keep you together. ”

    Well said, LaKesha.

    I’d heard couples people insist on how much they love others, and I’ve heard others respond in a “just because we love each other it doesn’t mean we have to remain in this relationship.”

    It’s just one of those things, I suppose.

    Like

What do you think?

