Do you have permission to fly?

My son has had the movie “Rio” playing continuously today.  As I have been working, I have been listening to portions of the movie.  Although I have seen it in its entirety, today a concept from this movie stuck in my head.

“Did Blu deny himself permission to fly because he was too content being grounded?”

For everyone who has seen the movie, you have some idea of what I’m talking about.  If you haven’t seen it, it chronicles the journey of a Blue McCall, appropriately named Blu, who goes to Rio de Janeiro to mate with another Blue McCall.  Blu has been living with his owner in what seems to be a quaint little town.  She has provided for his every need despite him living in a cage, which he easily opens and closes on his own.  The female that he is supposed to mate with,  Jewel, grew up in the wild having to fend for herself and tries to escape captivity at every turn.

Although Blu and Jewel look alike, they have very different pasts and experiences that have shaped who they are today.  Jewel assumes that because Blu looks like her that he too wants to be free and will be able to fly away at their first opportunity.  However, this is not the case and Blu longs to return to his cage.

This made me wonder how many people assume that because others look like them that they must be like them… How many of us discount the experiences of others because they may not look like what someone who we assume has had that experience should look like… Think about the battered woman who never shows any bruises… The drug addict with no obvious signs of their addiction…

It also made me wonder how many of us are so content with being grounded until we haven’t given ourselves permission to fly.  We have found a peaceful existence and although we know what we are capable of achieving, we have settled for what is safe and comfortable.

I saw a quote that stated…

Good things don’t come to those who wait, Good things come to those who work for it!

As we begin a new year, my social media timelines are filled with people claiming greatness in this new year. They see an abundance of blessings and good fortune coming their way.  Yet, I wonder if they have given themselves permission to stop doing what they have always done so that they can start doing something new that will open the gateway to their abundance.  I wholeheartedly believe that my blessings come from God, however, I believe that God has given me permission to soar but I have to give myself permission to get off the ground.

Many of us have become so accustomed to being grounded, to the safe lives that we lead until we don’t step outside of that safety, we don’t step out on faith to reach for the abundance that we claim.  The first time Blu thought about trying to fly, he had a book with instructions on aerodynamics, after reading the directions, he took off and FELL DOWN!  It took a while for him to try to fly again because he assumed that after trying once, it wasn’t meant to be.

There may be something that you want in your life that you have read about, tried once and failed then vowed that it wasn’t meant to be.  Let me hip you to one of my Success Secrets… Nothing worth having comes easy.  Maybe a few things, but don’t expect it to be easy, challenge yourself to become better, stronger and fit for the achievement.  Despite the successes that you may see from me through my social profiles, there are at least five times that I have fallen down to get to that point.  The difference is that no matter how many times I hit the ground, I remember how great it felt in the clouds and I push myself to get up and try to fly again.

My challenge to you…

EXPECT THE GREAT IN YOUR LIFE THEN GET BUSY PLANNING AND WORKING FOR IT!

Image of Jewel from "Rio" courtesy of fanpop.com

Image of Jewel from “Rio” courtesy of fanpop.com

And yes, in the end, Blu does learn to fly and he realizes what he was missing by not giving himself permission to fly…

 

2 thoughts on “Do you have permission to fly?

What do you think?

