Happy 35th Birthday to ME!!!

I remember growing up and thinking that 35 would be sooo far down the road…

Well, here it is!

The past year has had its share of ups and downs like most years but this year the valleys seemed especially deep and the mountains very steep.  For the first time, I was convicted, not criminally but spiritually, which put me on a path to a life altering change.

“From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.”

Luke 12:48

On my birthday last year, my aunt passed away and I was wrestling with my spirit.  I have always believed in God but I began to sense that He was calling me to a higher level of service. I didn’t think I was good enough, that I was prepared, that it was time… Let’s face it, I had a million and one reasons why I should not follow where He was leading me.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.  For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.  And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.”

Romans 8: 28-30

As I labored through those valleys and climbed those mountains, I began to realize that there was a straight and narrow path that I could follow or I could continue the treacherous journey that I was on.  Needless to say, I surrendered it all.  As we began to usher in the bright flowers of spring, so was I ushering in a new phase of my life.  I still stumble here and there but the lows aren’t so low and the climb isn’t as high.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.  If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.” 

James 1: 2-6

God has blessed me to see the calendar tick another year onto my life and I am grateful.  Despite whatever circumstances that I find myself in, I praise Him.  I thank each of you, my silent supporters and my vocal encouragers.  I’m nowhere near where I want to be but I thank God that I’m not where I used to be.  I have had to go through a lot to get to this point but… I am here, I am right where I am supposed to be…

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”

Philippians 4:11-13

Happy 35th Birthday to ME!

6 thoughts on “Happy 35th Birthday to ME!!!

What do you think?

