All that I’m not…

It’s easy for many of us to list our flaws, all of the things that we are not, all of the things that we want to be, all of the goals that we have yet to accomplish, all of the things that we haven’t done…

It’s easy to sit and remember our failures, the time that we fell short, the moments when we felt that we didn’t do enough or give our all, the people that we have let down, the times we have disappointed ourselves…

It’s easy to dream of what one day will be, to look to the future and imagine who we will be and what we will be doing and how fabulous our lives will be…

It’s easy to think of all that we are not…

It’s not always easy to think of all that we are…

All that I am not makes me all that I am…

Image from kaufmanpsychological.org

Sometimes you have to make it easy for yourself to believe in yourself…

You’re not perfect but your flaws are opportunities to grow and become a better person… 

Your goals, dreams and mountains of to-do lists are a part of your purpose for getting up and working through another day…

Your failures, setbacks and missteps have helped you to appreciate all of the  moments when things go just right or come close, those moments show you how strong you are, they are not signs of weaknesses but demonstrate your ability to persevere and keep pushing forward…

You will always disappoint someone, even yourself, but that is only because you have the set the bar so high for yourself and continue to strive for greatness, don’t be afraid of not hitting the mark, keep your eye on the heavenly prize and not earthly accolades…

All that you are not makes you all that you are…

Speak greatness and positive thoughts through your negative situations!

Want to read more about “Living Young & Fabulous”?

4 thoughts on “All that I’m not…

  1. LaKesha, you have the right idea.

    I tend to agree w/ everything said and I believe self-love promotes grace, truth, sanity and an overall enjoyment of life which doesn’t compare…regardless of what is to be accomplished from that point on.

    Like

    • Don, it’s amazing to me how many people take the simple act of being able to love themselves for granted. It is painful to see so many people in our society engaging in self-destructive behaviors and not being able to understand why they are perpetually unhappy.

      Like

  2. sunnydelyte21 says:

    Yes.. I agree it’s easy to point out those thing, but hard to come up with the things that are good. But then we realize that everything we are not, makes us who we are and that’s not so bad!

    Excellent Post!!

    Like

  3. This reminds me of Kanye’s epic track:

    “Damn, here we go again.
    everybody sayin’ what’s not for him
    everything I’m not, made me everything I am
    damn, here we go again.
    people talk sh*t, but when sh*t hits the fan
    everything I’m not, made me everything I am” – Kanye, Everything I Am

    Like

What do you think?

