[Book Review] Seriously God? by Jenny Smith

Normally, I can read a book of less than 200 pages within a few hours; however when I began reading Jenny Smith’s “Seriously God?” I knew it was going to take a bit longer.

Not because the text was hard to read or boring but because after reading a few pages, I would have to put the book down and do some serious thinking. Jenny reflects on her spiritual journey, not from the usual vantage of how great things are in life once you accept Christ as your Savior, but from the reality that most of us experience. The subtitle, “I’m Doing Everything I Know to Do and It’s Not Working,” is an accurate reflection of where many people are in their lives today.

We had become so accustomed to believing that everything will work out for the good because we loved the Lord, which it did when our economy was functioning at a high level, that many are in a tailspin now that things have changed and times have gotten rough. We are wondering where is God and does He even care?

I must confess that I do not struggle with my faith. I do not ask God why certain things happen to me or why the world is the way that it is. A long time ago, I put those questions out of my mind and decided to refocus on my daily walk trying to be the person that I was created to be. As I am beginning to make the transition into ministry, I am beginning g to look outside of my personal relationship with Christ and having to share information to help others so that they can develop and/or strengthen their relationship. I am finding that many people are in the situation that Jenny describes, crying to their Savior and wondering why their prayers are not being answered immediately.

In Jenny’s book, she asks very thought-provoking questions while also providing historical context when using scriptures, which is a delight to my soul. Not only is it enough to read the Word of God but to truly understand the message, it is necessary to have some background information. On several occasions, Jenny provided enough context about a passage of scripture until it caused me to question my interpretation and to grow into a new level of understanding.

One of the most profound questions that Jenny asks and provides some insight about is, “Where are the miracles?”

I recommend this book to anyone who wants to deepen their understanding of who Christ is and why God may not be showing up in your life the way that you expect. Jenny has done an excellent job of making me want to examine several of the passages presented on a deeper level so that I might be able to use them when ministering about who Christ is.

My reading companions... New Kings James Version of the Bible and a Life Application Bible (click on the picture to order your copy of "Seriously God?" from amazon.com

What do you think?

