All things do not work for the good of those who love the Lord…

In the 28th verse of the 8th Chapter of the Epistle to the Romans, we find a familiar piece of scripture that is often quoted by Christians…

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him…

One of my problems with people who quote scriptures is that they often leave off the important piece of information that actually makes the difference.  If you read the entire 28th verse, it states…

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

I hope that you can see the difference in meaning when leaving off this tail end of the scripture.  I see people all of the time who think that because they love God and call themselves Christians that things will work in their favor.  They say and do nasty things but end it with “Be Blessed” or some other Christian reference as if to say that their love for Christ justifies their actions.

Here’s the skinny… many times we can believe in God, we can have a relationship with God, we can be doing good things but if we are not living our purpose and doing the things that God has called us to do then no, all of those things still may not work out in your favor.   If you haven’t found your purpose in life or answered the calling that God has placed in your life then this may be hard to understand.  Before I answered my calling, I thought I was living the good life.  I was blessed and things were going ok because God was preparing me for what was next.  Once I heard the calling, I tried to take my time getting back to God but let’s just say, he wasn’t really feeling that.  Once I began to live according to HIS purpose and not my own; the blessings that I was receiving in the past paled to compare with what came next.

It doesn’t matter where you are in your faith walk, you must get to know God and read his word for yourself.  Don’t count on people who quote parts of scripture for your salvation.  Find that scripture and read the entire book (not just the passage or the chapter) for yourself so that you can have a clear understanding of what was going on and the context of the scripture so that you can learn the lesson that the scripture is trying to teach you.

I almost often tell congregations when I’m speaking that many of us proclaim to love God and that He is the head of our lives yet we know nothing about Him except what other people tell us.  It’s almost like being infatuated with a celebrity.  You read about them, hear other people talking about them and see them doing the thing that makes them “special” but you don’t know them personally.  When we are truly in love with someone, we want to know as much about them as possible.  We try to spend as much time with them as possible.  We get upset and begin to feel neglected when they are not able to make  time for us.  The same should be true in your relationship with God.  If you are truly in love with Him, you should not want to rely on what other people say about Him.  You should have a burning desire to know Him for yourself.  When you do and begin to get in tune with the calling and purpose for your life, it won’t matter what other people say or think about you.  Your life will be turned outside in – you won’t be focused on what’s outside as much as what’s happening on the inside.  You won’t have to tell people that you are Christian, they will be able to see that glow from within.

I could go on and on but I’m going to close with a quote that was very popular on my FaceBook page this week.  I got the image from a BBM group – Praying Parents.

 

6 thoughts on “All things do not work for the good of those who love the Lord…

  1. Thanks for the post. It is a good reminder. Also, we keep going in Romans 8 into the next two verses it helps describe what the good is that God is working in us for. It’s not a good with lots of money or wealth or happiness, necessarily. It is a good that means we look like – are conformed into – the image of his Son. God is working in all things to make us look like His Son Jesus

    Like

  2. *J says:

    Wow! This is an amazing post. You definitely opened my eyes to some things. I know I’m at the beginning of my journey of getting to know Christ. It isn’t easy, but I didn’t expect it to be. It’s not until you really try to make a change in your life that you realize how far you’ve gone in the opposite direction, or at least that’s the case with me. I just want to grow close to God and know Him for myself. I also know that I have to do what I can and rely on Him to do everything that I can’t do. The first step is reading and understanding His word…for myself…like you stated. I’m just going to do all I can to get myself right and truly give my all to God.

    Like

    • I think its excellent that you’ve come to this realization in your life. Through Christ all things are possible and the closer you get to Him, the more clearly you will see His plan for your life, which is often to be greater than we ever imagine for ourselves.

      Like

  3. Yeah I gotta agree with you on this one. This is one of the reasons why people are becoming more uncomfortable telling people that they are Christians because of people doing things like this. You hit it right on the head and I hope more people read this post and really start to asses how they are portraying being “Christian Like”

    Like

    • That’s why I don’t pride myself on quoting scriptures but understanding and practicing Christian principles. Scriptures just like statistics can be interpreted in a million different ways so we have to focus on the will of God and read the word for ourselves.

      Like

What do you think?

