How can you help prevent suicide?

One of the greatest tragedies, in my opinion, is the committing of suicide.  I feel this way because I have been through storms in my life where I felt like things would be better if I just ended it all.  I thought that there was no way my life would ever get better and that not existing was better than continuing to exist.  I thank God that I didn’t use this permanent solution to my temporary problems.

People looking on the outside of a person’s situation may try to quantify the situation or even minimize it by saying that things aren’t really that bad or that they will get better.  That’s great but sometimes it’s not enough.  What can you do if you sense that someone in your life may be on the verge of suicide?  According to HelpGuide.org, try these three tactics (visit the site for full details and additional strategies):

  1. Speak up and don’t be afraid to talk to the person about your concerns.  Sometimes it helps the person to know that someone cares whether they continue to exist or not.
  2. Respond quickly.  Don’t put it off and think that you can deal with it later.  Depending on the level of the person’s risk,  tomorrow could be too late.
  3. Offer help and support.  Even if there is nothing that you can do personally, offer to stick with the person while they find someone who can help.  Let them know that they are not alone.
What do you think?

