Are you afraid of change?

 

from long to short, dark to light... I'm still me

I am afraid of a lot things but change isn’t one of them.  I must admit that I am something of a control freak but I don’t mind when things don’t go as planned.  I can take a lick and keep on tickin’.  Sometimes I have to make a change to make the circumstances of my own life better rather than wait for the change to happen to me but that’s ok too.

 

How many times have you waited for someone else to become different so that your life would change?  Why do that?  Why not focus on what you can do to be better or have a different life?

My keys to change…

  1. Think about it.  Embracing change does not have to be a reckless pursuit.  There will be incidents that will require you to make a decision in an instant but for the most part if we are aware of what is happening around us, we will realize that we have more power in our lives than we initially believe.
  2. Do it because you want to.  Changing to please someone else rarely leads to success, especially if it’s not something that you really want to do.  Any changes that you make, should be changes that you are comfortable with and you feel will make you a better person.
  3. Don’t sweat small stuff.  Think about how a change will affect the bigger picture of your life.  Is it a small scene or a major production?  Yeah, the small scenes create the major productions but they only last for a moment.  Why spend your day obsessing over something that only lasted a few moments?
  4. Accept it.  The only constant in life is change.  From moment to moment, day-to-day even week to week; people, things and circumstances will be forever changing.  It amazes me how many people are shocked when a change happens in their life.  You can not realistically expect things to stay the same forever.  You shouldn’t want them to stay the same.  Change is a flavor of life.

One of my greatest joys and reasons for staying so focused on my future is looking forward to seeing what will happen next.  I have learned to enjoy people while they are a part of my life without holding a grudge or being angry when they move on; to be all that I can in a position while I have it instead of taking for granted that I will have it for the rest of my life and most importantly, to learn from each experience so that my changes going forward are for the best.

I know what you are thinking, there are some instances that you should fight to keep things constant.  Yes, that is true but know when to fight and when to let go…

2 thoughts on “Are you afraid of change?

What do you think?

