I’m a proud mama… for the third time!

Today, I welcomed home my newest bundle of joy…

I remember the day I gave birth to my son.  I couldn’t imagine my heart filling with any more joy than I felt at that moment.  Becoming a mother had always been a distant thought in my mind but the reality was so much more than words can describe.  My heart almost exploding seeing this little bundle of joy that I created.  However, there were so many questions racing through my mind.  Would I know how to take care of another person?  What if I dropped him (I never did)?  How would I know what he wanted when he cried?  How would I teach this little boy to become a man?

Giving birth to my second “baby” was just as overwhelming but in a different way.  Do you ever feel like you know you can do something but you are either afraid to step out and do it or just keep putting it off because it seems too big to accomplish?  That’s how I felt.  I wanted to publish my book but I was scared.  What if no one bought it?  What if it sucked?  What if people laughed at me?  I kept moving forward with the project but I was nervous.

You would think that by the time I was ready to publish my second book/”third baby” that I would be less nervous because I had been there and done that but this experience brought a different set of fears.  In this project, I invited nine people that I admire greatly to participate.  What if they said no?  What if they thought the idea was stupid?  I was blessed to receive positive feedback on the first project,  but what if people responded negatively to this one?

Success Secrets for the Young & Fabulous

I liken publishing a book to giving birth because it is like sharing a part of you with the world, taking something that has been growing inside of you and releasing it to world.  No matter what others think or say, its your baby.  You love it, protect it and want nothing but the best for it.  You want the rest of the world to love it as much as you do but no matter what; when you look at it, you know all of the blood, sweat and tears that went into its production.

Regardless of what you try to accomplish in life, there will be fears.  You will have questions.  You will have doubts.  Don’t give up. Always continue to push forward.  Your dreams are your babies.  Don’t be ashamed to give them all of your love.  Nurture them to be successful and don’t be upset if no one else in the world loves them as much as you.

God has a plan for each of us and you have everything within you necessary to be successful.  Believe in God and believe in yourself then do the work be the best person you can be.

Thanks for showing my “babies” some love…

3 thoughts on “I’m a proud mama… for the third time!

  1. Alfred Edmond Jr. says:

    Congratulations, Lakesha! You have learned what many without more than one child may not appreciate: the birth of a new baby never gets old, even with experience, because every child is a unique, one-of-a-kind, individual miracle. May God continue to bless you and your family. Alfred

    Like

  2. I’m finishing up your first book and can’t wait to get my hands on your third “baby”. I’m always so very proud of you. Keep doing what you do so the world can enjoy you.

    Like

What do you think?

