i shield my heart to heal my heart…

one the greatest relationship challenges that i face is letting down my guard…

i hear the words, read the messages but don’t trust the sender

i say the words, send the message but don’t trust myself

i want the dream but don’t live the reality

he makes me weak yet gives me strength

he sent me a song that made my heart sing

now the tune pierces the vital organ that gives me life

i can’t trust myself to like him just enough while keeping the appropriate distance

i can’t trust him to not be like every other one

he thinks i don’t care because i don’t share

i think he doesn’t care because i don’t trust

one broken heart, two broken hearts, three broken hearts

how many broken hearts before the heart is ruined

i shield my heart to heal my heart

2 thoughts on “i shield my heart to heal my heart…

What do you think?

