Success Secret #41

*Exhale*

It feels great to be back home on my blog.  It is so ironic that last month was the one year anniversary of my blog and I couldn’t get it together.  I felt so uninspired that I didn’t want to write… anything.

Thank God that change is the only constant in our lives.  I am so happy to be out of that season and entering a new place in my life with lots of thoughts and personal life lessons to share with you.

Success Secret #41… don’t be afraid of change.  A while back I read a book entitled, “Who Moved My Cheese” by Dr. Spencer Johnson.  It was an odd book because the topic seemed pretty remedial and the book size was very small.  At the time, I was so caught up in the doing of my life that I wasn’t spending much time reflecting.  I was in constant motion and thought that change was just a part of life.

In a way, however, I was like a little rat in my own little cage.  I was ok with the changes happening in my life because my cheese stayed in my cage and I didn’t really have to share with anyone.  As my career has progressed and my network has grown, I have found myself having to share my cheese and sometimes having to go into other people’s cages.  While I was in motion, busily running from here to there, everything was ok but one day I stopped and looked around.  I was lost.  I had been so busy scurrying from place to place, helping this person and that person that I didn’t know where I was anymore.  I wouldn’t say that I lost myself because I am and always will be a child of God, which is what keeps me grounded but I had lost my purpose.  I was doing things, promoting things, working on projects and not getting any satisfaction from it.

Not only was I so busy doing that I had lost my focus but I was also putting myself at risk for some serious health problems.  I wish I could tell you that I autocorrected and kept moving forward but I didn’t.  I almost became paralyzed.  It felt like my world was spinning and there was this person wanting that and that person wanting this and I just had nothing to give.  I was tapped out.  I checked out.  Pass judgement if you will (but you know how I feel about that).

Anyway, I took a minute to just stand there (in my life) and look around at the moving parts.  I knew that I couldn’t change anyone else but I could change me.  I didn’t know what that change would look like and I wasn’t in a rush to make any decisions.  I needed a break.  I needed to refocus and reprioritize.

So often in our lives, we are afraid to change.  We are afraid of doing something differently because so many people expect us to do the same thing or to be the same person.  Deep down you may have a yearning to do something else or to make some changes in your life but something is holding you back.  It’s the fear of change.  It’s the fear that others won’t accept the new you.  Guess what? They don’t have to.  You don’t have to be everything to everyone.  (Took me a while to figure that one out.)

Embrace whatever positive changes you need to make in your life so that you can be the healthiest, happiest person possible.  Don’t worry about disappointing others because you will never please everyone all of the time and will rarely please anyone some of the time.  Get busy living your best life!

One thought on “Success Secret #41

What do you think?

