Catch the vision

Close your eyes…

Open your mind…

What do you see?

Clear your head of all of the clutter… all of the things that you need to do… all of the things that you have done… all of the things that you will do as soon as you open your eyes…

Clear your mind and take a deep breath…

Now ask yourself the following questions…

Who am I?

What image comes into your head, not what words do you think of but what do you see? Who is the person standing in the mirror inside of your head?

Who do I want to be?

Don’t think about your profession or your next job but think about the person that you want to be, the characteristics that are important to you, that you want others to see.

What do I want to do?

Again, forget about jobs and making money, what activities in your life bring you joy?  What would you do if you didn’t have to worry about money?

So often we find ourselves out of line with our true purpose and not living our passion because we can’t see ourselves clearly therefore we can’t see what is ahead of us.  How often do you feel out of whack, you know, like something just isn’t right?  I’ve felt that way before.  I couldn’t really put my finger on what was wrong but I just didn’t feel like myself.  I didn’t feel like I was moving forward or doing what I was supposed to be doing.

Demands are placed on your life everyday by outside sources – your family, friends, job, church, and the list goes on and on.  While trying to satisfy these obligations, it can become easy to get sidetracked and to no longer be living your purpose or passion rather trying to make it to the next day.

The question then becomes, how do you get it back together? How do you get back on track?  In order to figure out who you are and where you are supposed to be going, you have to get in tune with yourself.  If you find yourself feeling lost or ungrounded, that simply means that you have stopped listening to yourself.  You have lost your inner voice.

Have you ever noticed how calm and centered people are who pray a lot, practice yoga or meditate tend to be?  It is not a coincidence.  These activities are ways to still your mind and create an alignment between your thoughts and actions.  When you spend your life in a frenzy moving from one thing to the next without taking a breath, it is easy to get off of your natural track and find yourself feeling like you are in a whirlwind.

Over the past few months, I was in this vicious cycle of trying to be everything to everyone.  I would stay in prayer and kept my relationship with God but even in church I was whipping out post it notes and making lists of things that I needed to do once the service was over or things that needed to be added to my list for the following week.  I would wake up in the morning and start working and often not take a break for lunch because I had so much to do.  A point came where I was forced to slow down and I began to listen to my own voice again and realized that a  lot of the things that kept me so busy were not a part of my purpose.

How do you get off the rollercoaster and realign yourself with your passion and passion.  Start at the beginning of this blog.  Close your eyes, clear your mind and spend some time thinking about who you are, who you want to be and what you want to do.  Once you open your eyes, begin to do the work to make the vision in your head a reality in your life.

5 thoughts on “Catch the vision

  1. Great blog. So true and I’m sure it’s applicable to many people, including me. I posted a blog on my website a few days ago similar to this – identifying your true self as opposed to trying to walk in the path created for someone else. I take 10 minutes everyday and find myself a corner and just breathe, relax and let go of anything that may be stressing me. Glad you’re back writing, keep it coming!!!

    Like

  2. Roderick Frizzelle says:

    I have been struggling with this very topic recently… I have so many things going on and so much in my head that it is hard to focus…

    Thanks for the exercise… I will mos def do!!!!

    Like

  3. Marvelous Blog LaKesha!

    I ask myself these questions evey day:
    What is your dream?
    What do you imagine yourself doing?
    What do you want to accomplish?

    VISION
    The gift of VISION is greater than the gift of sight. Sight is a function of the eyes, but VISION is a function of the heart. The power of VISION is that your future is not just ahead of you – it also lies within you.

    Nothing noble or noteworthy on earth was ever done without vision. No invention, development, or great feat was ever accomplished without vision’s inspiring power.

    To Your Success!
    Jean Kruger, Managing Director
    Legacy Trust™

    Like

  4. Here’s a big dose of serendiptity – my book on meditation is titled Close Your Eyes & Open Your Mind – honestly. I published it six years ago and it is now available in 5 languages. I’m applying as a presenter at your “I want it All” event in August so please keep you eye open for my proposal.
    Warm regards
    Dada Nabhaniilananda
    The Monk Dude

    Like

What do you think?

