Reflections: Searching for Mr. Right

I know that I am not supposed to be searching for Mr. Right and technically I am  not.  You know how the saying goes… “He that finds a wife…” so I am patiently waiting for him to find me.

However, I would not be me if I didn’t put my own spin on the waiting process.  One of things that I realized while going through my waiting process was that sometimes my emotions would cloud my rational thinking.  To combat this, I created an Excel spreadsheet that calculates the percentage compatibility of me and my date.  I know some people think this is going overboard but it is important for me to make rational decisions.  Of course, there have been instances where someone had a low percentage but we were vibing so the relationship lasted a little longer.  But I realized that those little things that I didn’t think mattered, were really important.

Anyway, check out some of the things that I pray my future mate will have and tell me if you think it’s overrated.

  1. Appreciative – no one wants to feel like they are being taken for granted
  2. Christian heart – good intentions go a long way, you would be surprised at how many jerks are out there
  3. Compassionate – if you don’t care about your fellow-man, I find it hard to believe you can truly care for me
  4. Consistently employed – you must have steady employment if you want to be the head of a household, doesn’t really matter what you do but you have to do something
  5. Desire to travel – love to see the world and want someone to share that passion with
  6. Enjoys celebrating holidays – I am a big family person and love the food, festivities and family time, I don’t want to be around anyone that will complain the whole time, stay home
  7. Good father figure – I work hard at being a good mother and expect my mate to take parenting just as seriously
  8. Golfer – this one could be negotiable but I prefer someone who will share my love of the sport because my ideal retirement involves being somewhere in a sunny state living in a golf community
  9. Honesty – yeah, it’s amazing how easy guys lie to you and think you don’t know the difference, I just chose not to confront it and move on
  10. Intelligent – this doesn’t have to be through an institution but I like talking to someone who knows something about something, not really important what (but it helps if it’s something that I’m interested in)
  11. Self confident – I can’t have someone who relies on me to make them feel good, I have no problem stroking a man’s ego but he has to be worthy of receiving such accolades
  12. Taller than me – yeah, it sounds superficial but I just can’t date a guy who is shorter than me
  13. Triple fashion threat – these are straight bonus points but there is nothing sexier than a man who can switch it up, you know he looks great in a business suit, can switch it up with a nice, trendy casual look and then rock the sporty look without looking corny… sounds easy but it is very rare
  14. Willing and able to cook – a girl likes to eat and doesn’t always want to cook, I love to cook but it’s nice to share those duties
  15. Willing to give time to charity – I have actually dated guys that thought it was a waste of time to donate time to charity, the catch is that I don’t want him to do it for me but it should be something already in his spirit

All right… I’m ready… tell me that you think I’m crazy, I can handle it… there are nine more that couldn’t be posted 😉

4 thoughts on “Reflections: Searching for Mr. Right

  1. Roderick Frizzelle says:

    LOL… You’re crazy… But being crazy is not a bad thing, you are crazy about the things you intend for your life, I think that is amazing…

    Actually I think these things are pretty mild..

    Now those other 9 list items might warrant further analysis…

    SN: You just gave me inspiration for dusting off my golf bag on my balcony…

    Like

  2. Cindy Reese says:

    #12–ha, ha, that’s because you are a shrimp.

    I don’t know about the excel spreadsheet, but I think everything you’ve listed is perfectly reasonable. It all looks good on paper. The trick is in the compromise. The fella might find you, but prefer fishing instead of golfing and his idea of ‘travel’ might going down to Biloxi for a weekend at the slots. But, if he cherishes you and treats your son like his own, then you’d be silly not to open your heart to him.

    Like

What do you think?

