This Business Rocks! The BOSS Network

I don’t think that my feelings for The BOSS Network are a secret to anyone that follows me on Twitter.  So… for all of my nonTwitter blog readers, you are about to get a crash course on one my favorite networking sites.

I first saw The BOSS Network when they were tweeting and asking women who felt like they were BOSS material to follow them.  You know me, I am definitely a BOSS, my own BOSS but a BOSS nonetheless.  I was excited to see them posting such uplifting tweets and supporting women in their home location of Chicago but also reaching out to women to all over the country.

A few weeks later an invitation to join their network through their website – http://thebossnetwork.org – appeared.  I blew it off because I felt like I had my hands full with this blog, Facebook and Twitter.  However, if you know the Founder, Cameka Smith, then you know she is persistent and always gets what she wants (sounds like a true BOSS leader).  I eventually went over to check it out and realized that you have to be approved to be a part of the network.  This truly piqued my curiosity because I wanted to be an insider.  I completed my online application and was elated to receive an approval email. (Sidenote – not everyone gets approved because the network is for professional woman, who post professional photographs and have a desire to network & support other professional women)

Once inside the network, I settled in and began to participate in some groups, posted a few blogs and made some new friends.  During the course of my networking, I began interacting with the BOSS lady herself, Cameka.  She seemed pleasant online and we scheduled a phone call.  What was supposed to be a brief chat turned into a long conversation about our shared faith, our desire to make an impact in the lives of women and young people around the world and how blessed we both are to be doing the things that we love.

I support the BOSS Network and encourage women who are serious about growing their professional network to join this group.  These women not only talk the talk but they walk the walk.  They are so supportive of each other until I feel like many of them are besties and I haven’t even met most of them in person.

I was fortunate to meet Cameka in Atlanta at the Black Enterprise Entrepreneur’s Conference in May.  I knew we were kindred spirits because we had committed to spending a week together in Atlanta and Chicago before ever laying eyes on one another.  We had so much fun in Atlanta and showed them what networking was all about. I am still in contact with several people that I met during our event.  Our next stop was Chicago, where Cameka was honoring 12 fabulous women for the contributions they are making to the Chicago business community.  It was so special to share the stage with these amazing women and see Cameka in action and working the room.  I also had the opportunity to meet a few of my BOSS friends and look forward to going back soon to meet more of them.

The BOSS Network, still an infant compared to some networks, celebrates it’s one year anniversary during the month of July.  Just days before June closed, I noticed a tweet from @theBOSSnetwork stating that Forbes.com had listed The BOSS Network as One of the Top 100 Websites for Women.  I have a huge admiration for a single woman with a vision and a dream who can achieve this level of success in less than one year while remaining humble and staying focused on the needs of the women in her network.  However, Forbes wasn’t done.  A few days later, The BOSS Network was listed in the Top 10 Career Sites for Women (no, this doesn’t mean that if you join, you are going to get a job but you will find support and resources to help you in your professional endeavors).

All of this has happened in the short time that I have been a member of the network and I am so excited to see what the future has in store for The BOSS Network.  If you are ready to take your networking to the next level, join today.

http://TheBOSSNetwork.org

What do you think?

