Movie Review – Karate Kid

Last Friday night I decided to take my son (4 years old) and my cousin (11 years old) to the movies.  Our choices were Toy Story 3 or Karate Kid.  The little one wanted to see Toy Story 3 and the older one voted for Karate Kid. I was the tie breaker and we (obviously) ended up seeing Karate Kid.

I was very pleased with my choice since I am from the generation that still remembers the original movie from 1984.  However, I began to question my choice and my sanity when asked, the Movie Theatre Assistant informed me that the movie began at 6:55pm and ended around 9:30pm.  What the hay! Yeah, that was something like my response.  However, being a woman of my word, I grabbed my Blackberry, soda and popcorn and prepared to be entertained.

I am not going to give away any information about the movie but I will say:

  • In the beginning, I was a little concerned about Tariji’s hairstyle but she worked it out by the end of the movie
  • I could totally relate to Tariji’s character because as a single mom you feel like all you can do is your best, even if it isn’t creating an ideal situation for your child
  • Jackie Chan’s character was a little unbelievable at times but he served his purpose and ultimately redeemed himself
  • There were several pearls of wisdom for adults included in the story line.  My favorite – standing still and doing nothing are two different things.
  • Systematic bullying (as Kelley from the Real  Housewives of New York refers to it) can affect a child in ways that a parent may never understand and sometimes may never be able to assist with, this definitely gave me a lot to think about since my son will be starting school soon (*KEY – watch for changes in mood and/or behavior*)

Overall, I can understand why this movie is smashing the box office.  It is well worth the high movie theatre price and I predict karate studios around the world will see an uptick in students because almost every boy walked out trying to karate chop someone or something.

LaKesha’s Movie Rating

GO SEE IT

One thought on “Movie Review – Karate Kid

What do you think?

