Success Secret #33

One of the hardest things about being a “public person” is knowing that people are always watching you.  I live in a very small town and everyone knows everyone.  With that “knowing” also comes expectations.  They have an idea of who I am supposed to be and how I am supposed to act.  Strangely, these expectations can also be a part of your online identity.

I am constantly warning people about managing their image, watching how their “public person” behaves and editing their online content to fit the image that they are trying to create but guess what?  Success secret #33… sometimes you have to dance like no one is watching.

Sometimes you just have to let it all out and have a good time.  I don’t advocate that you do anything that may cause you to get arrested or permanently stain your professional reputation but sometimes, it just doesn’t matter who is watching.  You need to have some fun in your life without worry of what others will think.

I feel like I tread pretty carefully through life, try not to post too much personal information on Twitter or Facebook and stay on my best behavior when out in public but even I like to have fun.  The key to letting go is realizing that there is a time and a place for everything.  Luckily doing so on Twitter only lasts about five seconds in most of my friends timelines because things move so fast with hundreds of posts being updated by the minute.  However, public displays of “dancing like no one is watching” should be limited to non business related trips with your closest friends (lol). 

The key to a successful life is finding that balance between your public and private self while relishing in every God-given moment.

2 thoughts on “Success Secret #33

  1. I guess that is why some people have 2 accounts under assumed names, so that they can have fun under the radar. My ame is really Tiffany.

    Peace, Love and Chocolate
    Tiffany

    Like

  2. Sarah Cooper says:

    Sometimes it is hard for me to bite my tongue (or sit on my fingers, if you will) so I had to remove my customers from my personal Facebook world. I agree with Tiffany about personal / professional accounts.

    Like

What do you think?

