Stop expecting more than you are willing or able to give

I’m sure you can probably tell from the title of this post that it is probably about something personal happening in my life.

I am sick of people wanting to take, take and take some more but then they have nothing to offer.  What makes a person think that the world owes them something? What makes them think that everyone on earth exist to make them happy?

Guess what!?! Not only does the world not owe you anything but most people could care less about your happiness.  We are all struggling day-to-day trying to maintain our own sanity and happiness.  I try to do my best to help those that I can help but what makes someone think that my level of giving is going to supercede normal and rational boundaries of my own personal happiness.  No matter how greatly I think of a person, I think even more of myself.

On the converse, I also don’t think people should give of themselves to the point of self-sacrifice.  Life is all about give AND take.  You need to be in a mutually beneficially relationship with everyone in your life including your parents, friends, mates, children, etc.  You should not reach a point in your life where you begin to resent those around you because they are taking too much from you.  The fact is, they are not taking too much, you are giving too much.  No one can take more than you are willing to give.

Many of us create these unbalanced situations trying to fulfill some other need in our lives but guess what? At every level of your life, you have to deal with your issues as they are.  You can not substitute problems and solutions.  They are not interchangeable.

Anyway, I’m done ranting and hope that there was a peril of wisdom embedded in there somewhere.

8 thoughts on “Stop expecting more than you are willing or able to give

  1. Chavarro says:

    The wisdom is indeed there – experience has taught me that relationships (and life) are only healthy and fulfilling when there is balance. I’ve also learned that the best time to address concerns (imbalances) in relationships is as they occur. Allowing your displeasure with how someone treats you to stew simply increases your frustration. Lay everything out on the table, and if a mutually beneficial compromise cannot be reached after honest conversation, know it is okay to distance yourself from this toxic situation.

    Like

  2. Hey you always have a pearl of wisdom and that’s why I come back everyday. You are right we are always worried about what we should get instead of giving.

    Peace, Love and Chocolate
    Tiffany

    Like

  3. ultrasound technician says:

    I’ve recently started a blog, the information you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

    Like

  4. I have discovered that I have consistently given more than has been returned. I am a helper by nature. I give freely, however, I have found myself increasingly disheartened by how often it is taken for granted. My refusal to accept the behavior of those who consistently take but never give (or put themselves in a position to do better) has led to the severance of some significant relationships – including family. I am okay with that. I find my peace in knowing who I am and the heart with which I gave. If others don’t see that, then so be it.

    Like

What do you think?

