Success Secret #30

While working as a retail manager, I would always stress to my associates the importance of giving the same great service to everyone that came into our store.  I think that most people who try to look like they have it going on don’t while those who you would not expect to have a hill of beans in their name are probably the ones sitting on the jackpot.  A lot of people spend a lot of time trying to create an image that is not real.  That image may be of imagined wealth or perceived poverty.

Success secret #30 … don’t try to pre-qualify people.  You cannot look at a person and tell very much about them.  You may be able to garner a few clues into what you believe to be their life but how do you know for sure?  How do you prevent yourself from losing out on opportunities? Simple, give everyone the same level of service and attention.

One day while at a networking event, a very young looking guy walked in the room.  He was somewhat awkward and didn’t have his 60 second pitch totally formulated.  I watched as he approached several business people in hopes of making a connection but they each dissed him but I was curious to know who this persistent young man was.  I walked up to him and introduced myself.  He seemed a little taken aback that I would want to talk to him.  I would be lying if I said the conversation flowed easier because it did not.  I could feel my brow wrinkle a couple of times as he tried to explain who he was and why he was there.  Long story short, he was the son of a wealthy business owner and fresh out of college; his dad had assigned him to get out and find new opportunities for their company to invest in.  I could not help but smirk because I knew that several people in the room could use some financial assistance with various projects.

You cannot judge a book by its cover and rather than look down on someone, you should always be looking for ways to make a connect with your fellow man.  You never know who you are going to met, who you can help or who can help you.

One thought on “Success Secret #30

What do you think?

