Ministers and Preachers: What’s the difference?

The terms minister and preacher seem interchangable but once you take a moment to reflect on what each actually means, it makes you think a little about your church, what you have and what you want/expect from your religious leader.

I am the type of person who likes to take personal inventory on a regular basis.  Just like any business, it is important for me to know what I already have so that I can begin to figure out what I need.  It doesn’t make much sense to continue focusing on something that you have already conquered.

Recently, I was thinking about my favorite church, Shaw Temple AME Zion Church, and I was trying to figure out why I enjoyed attending this church so much.  I was only in Atlanta for a year but I loved going to this church every Sunday.  I like my current church here in Alabama because it is my family’s church.  I was born and raised there.  My grandparents, mother and son were/are a part of this church so it embodies a great deal of history for me and my family.

Shaw, on the other hand, was filled with strangers.  Although there was no history, there is a sense of community and fellowship ia a major part of the service.  They have many ministries including a single’s ministry and there is a children’s church as well as day care facilities.  My current church does not have any of those things but we have a vibrant Sunday service.

These thoughts made me wonder:  in today’s society, do people want a minister who will provide ministries and outreach to help you beyond the Sunday morning service or is being a Sunday morning preacher enough to satisfy your soul?

4 thoughts on “Ministers and Preachers: What’s the difference?

  1. I think this is a great question. I believe growing up I was ok with just having a “preacher” preach at me because I didn’t want more out of church. But now that I’m older I know that I need a minister along with ministries to help minister to what ever I’m going through in life!

    Like

    • I feel the same way, Shivawn. It wasn’t until I attended services with my first “minister” that I realized the difference and my spiritual life hasn’t been the same since then. I also like knowing that the money I give to the church is going back to the community or helping to benefit the other members of the church.

      Like

What do you think?

