Success Secret #19

There are so many hard lesson to learn in life.  Most of them come from your experiences, both the good and the bad.  I wish I could sit back and tell you that I have had all of these wonderful experiences that made me the person that I am today, but that would not be true.  I have been through things that I haven’t even told my mother about and I tell her almost everything.  I have been through things that I haven’t even talked to God about, yet.  I know that He already knows but just having the conversation will mean me really having to acknowledge and accept the situations.  Sounds so much easier than it actually is because somethings are just harder to accept than others. We don’t expect the people who are supposed to love us and care for us to be the ones that hurt us the most.

For a long time I held on to the pain of my bad experiences and it was almost like a crutch.  It served as the perfect excuse for me not to face certain situations or not to deal with certain problems.  However, getting up and putting on my big girl pants mean… Success Secret #19… you have to learn to let go.

A lot of the things that have happened to me could have easily broken me.  They could have destroyed my ability to love and trust.  They could have prevented me from ever wanting or having friends.  They could have bound me to a life of paranoia and solitude.  However, somewhere along the way, I decided that it was easier to let go of all of that negative baggage and to keep moving forward.  I hear people talk about their “haters” all of the time.  I honestly don’t get why they put so much focus on these people.  I know that there are people who don’t support me, don’t believe in what I am doing or don’t want to see me succeed but I put absolutely no time or energy into them.  I don’t even give them the privilege of a title like “hater” in my life. 

I am always encouraging people to live on the good side of life.  At every turn you will find the bad side and the good side of a situation.  You can choose to hold on to the bad stuff and focus on the negative but it will only bring you down.  Letting go doesn’t mean forgetting but it means not dwelling on or in the toxic stuff and focusing on the positive.  You have a choice in life.  Why choose to be unhappy?

3 thoughts on “Success Secret #19

  1. djkennay says:

    Yes I agree wit u, we have to learn to let go. I use to hold a grudge on everybody dat piss me off or let me down then n up being unhappy longer than I needed to b, now I pray about d situation & let go of grudges I wanna stay stress free

    Like

What do you think?

