Success Secret #18

Everyday feels like a rat race. I am constantly trying to get the biggest piece of cheese.  Looking over my shoulder to see how close he is, looking to my left at her progress. A decision has to be made…. I am exiting the race.

I saw this statement on a button of someone who was passing by and it stuck with me.  Success Secret #18… Good enough never is…no matter how much I chase, how far I get, it will never be good enough. There will always be someone better and faster.  No matter what you do, unless you become complacent in life, you will never reach good enough because you will always be striving to achieve more.  This is not to say that you should give up but that you should not place your focus on this invisible finish line.  You won’t reach that point until you’re dead and who is trying to rush to get to that endpoint?

One of the keys to being successful is to do your personal best at all times. Not just when someone is looking, when you feel like it or in an attempt to receive a prize but making excellence a part of your daily standard. Executing this one change in mindset will enhance your life because no longer will the focus be on the progress of your peers but it will be on achieving self-satisfaction.

At one point I did not want to attend any of my class reunions because I thought I would be intimidated by the success of my peers.  I did not feel as though I had accomplished enough to stand tall next to those in the race with me.  However, I reached a point where I realized that I was doing all that I could and being all that I am able to be.  I decided to stop trying to measure myself against others and merely focus on being my best self.  At the end of each day, don’t you want to feel a sense of accomplishment and not just be tired and beat down from running a race that you will never win.

One thought on “Success Secret #18

  1. I love this. This is true but very difficult for some people to grasp. I think we have to reach a level of mental maturity and the satisfaction and understanding of one’s self before we can do this. I used to feel the same way, but I had to come to a point and realize that the only person I need to be competing with, is myself. Making sure I’m constantly growing, achieving my goals, and being a better me in every area of life. I want to be whole.

    Like

What do you think?

