Do Christians like to party?

As I stated in my first post, this blog is about my Christian journey which means I am on the road and having plenty of questions along the way.  One of the issues that I have is trying to figure out why Christians aren’t supposed to party?

Some days I feel like I have one foot in the club and one foot in the church.  It is especially hard during the holidays because there is so much going on and I want to be a part of the fun.  One of my friends said that I shouldn’t care what others think.  I agree but I just don’t understand why it’s a bad thing for me to still want to party.

Here’s the way I look at it ~ I am an adult.  I know how to carry myself.  I know what I should and should not be doing.  If I want to go to the club and party until 6am and show up at church at 11am, I should not have any reason to be ashamed.  I don’t see it as “serving two masters” because I am not worshipping the club or the DJ.  As long as I am not committing any sins, I should be able to have some drinks, dance and just have a good time.

What do you think?  To be a Christian do you have to leave the club behind?  Is it possible to do both?

5 thoughts on “Do Christians like to party?

  1. You can party girl. What I think is hilarious is that folks think people are not sinning in the church. You remember is it not the outside of a person but the inside that God is looking at for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. We can preach/minister in the club and can curse someone (without even opening your mouth) in the church. The distinction of locations is such a Christian myth. Keep it Godly – that is our only requirement.

    Like

  2. I think this is one of those age-old debates that should not be one at all.

    I think that the club is not the spiritual danger, but the club “mentality”. And people get this confused in my opinion. Because many people cannot separate going to the club from over-indulgence. For instance, public drunkenness – not drinking – is a spiritually unacceptable act. So I think if you have a firm sense of what is acceptable to you spiritually, and what is not, then you are good to go.

    If we apply this logic that you are not supposed to be in the “club” because you would serve two masters, then I would expect those same Christians to denounce everything else: luxury is excess and overindulging when others in the world go without, gluttony is a sin, which most of this nation commits everyday by eating more than they need while others go hungry, etc. We live in this world, thus everything that we enjoy as amenities and privilege is of this world. If a place to dance and meet people is too worldly to be a place for Christians, then we need to reevaluate the other privileges we rationalize by labeling them as “blessings from above.”

    I could go on and on, but part of spirituality is knowing that the Lord wants you to live a rich life here on earth – all you have to do is love Him, pronounce Him as the only God, and to follow His will with all your Heart, Body, and Mind. No one can know your heart and intentions in the club, except you and God. If you are true to what you know is Christian morality, then you can go into any place, any situation, and exist while still shining through as a child of God.

    Like

  3. I fully agree with SpkTruth2Pwr… I actually agree so much that it is going to be hard to state my piece without being redundant, but I’ll try. 🙂

    Sins come from actions as well as mental states (mindsets, if you will). If you want to go out, dance, and enjoy yourself while remaining pure in thought and action, there is nothing wrong with that. I actually think that more Christians should go out, and be examples that you do not have to give up “fun” things; you just have to remain mindful of whom you serve while having said fun.

    The only rebuttal I can see is that sometimes the songs and dances that people enjoy in a club atmosphere are so vulgar that it is hard to separate. The dancing is easy to combat, but the songs, not so much. This is something that I struggle with and pray about as well. There are songs that sometimes have me bobbing my head and tapping my feet that are just plain WRONG! I think that is the only thing that one should keep in mind while at the club.

    Like

  4. Cindy Reese says:

    I think you got me on this one–aren’t Christians supposed to be, ‘no part of the world’? Aren’t you condoning the unchristian activities there by chosing to be there?

    Can’t you let your hair down and be with good Christian friends in some other way?

    Also, I met my baby-daddy at a damned club–never should have been there in the first place! (smile–but I love my little girl, but I’m just sayin’–I don’t think it was God’s plan for me…it was Cindy’s plan!)

    Like

  5. I love the personal reflections that this post brought out in you all. It seems that we all agree that your sprituality is internal and not confined to a place. However, I can agree that your environment can cause you to compromise or maybe contradict some of your Christian values. Gives me something to think about. Thanks!

    Like

What do you think?

