For the love of money

It is commonly thought that money is the root of all evil.  However, money is just as evil as guns.  A gun is only lethal when used incorrectly.  Money is only evil when it and the things it buys become more of a priority than those things that are truly important.

I can not be the judge or juror in anyone’s life, however when you make money a priority in life; you are missing out on a lot of good stuff.  We need money to pay our bills and live our life but there is a fine line that is often crossed and people begin to put money before their family members.  Have you ever heard of a family that began life altering bickering after the death of a loved one that didn’t have a will?  They almost lose their minds scrambling to get something that wasn’t even theirs.  It is not out of love for the deceased family member but out of love of money.

Want to know if the love of money has taken over your life?  Ask yourself these three questions…

  1. How would I feel if I could only pay my bills and there was nothing left?
  2. How would I feel if I could never go shopping again?
  3. How would I feel if my friends and family knew the truth about my financial situation?

Love is a feeling that causes actions.  If a negative reaction is your response to any of those questions then your emotions are attached to your finances and you need to think about the actions that follow to ensure you are living your priorities and not for the love of money.

5 thoughts on “For the love of money

  1. Tanisha says:

    I totally agree, Lakesha. I’ve been blessed to have a family that showed me how to appreciate life, even when you don’t have much (materially) in it. It’s amazing how much fun I can have with limited funds and how creative I become when money isn’t available to me.

    I have run across many people in the recent months who consistently complain about the things they don’t have and how poor the economy is and how they don’t know how they’re going to make it. But what I’ve realized is that they have been so used to throwing money at their problems and the economic state no longer gives them that privilege. So to them, it’s the end of the world.

    A good friend of mine acknowledged that his marriage ended for this very reason. His wife was with him when all was great and he had money to provide for those extra luxuries. However, when he lost his job due to layoffs and organizational closings, she bailed on him. He had indicated that while he thought his ex-wife wasn’t a bad mom, but that he wanted his next wife to be one who could show his daughter how great life could be without all of the perks, b/c he thought it’d be more valuable to her in the long run.

    Unfortunately, people have become more selfish and in it for themselves and they’ve forgotten Christ’s command that we love our neighbors as ourselves(Matt. 22:39). I remember as a child, it was common for people to stop by your home to share their crops or things that they had that they thought could be of good use to you and vice versa. My mom had a tomato and pepper garden and she’d always bag some up to give to neighbors.

    That’s why I honestly believe the poor economy is Christ’s way of calling us back to basics, which is when we were closest to him anyway.

    This is a great read and I hope that many will wake up and recognize the evil money can cause when it’s worshipped and not Christ.

    Like

    • Thanks, Tanisha! I absolutely agree that life changes when you are able to appreciate the simple things. It seems like the more stuff that we accumulate the less happy we are because “good enough never is.” However, when we stop chasing things and focus on building relationships with people, life takes on a new meaning.
      Kesha

      Like

  2. Tracey Burnett says:

    I’m glad that I had no visceral response to any of the three questions you asked.

    You’ve heard me say before that money is simply a means to do what you want when you want to do it. I live in DC where there is always something to do, but it’s going to cost you. However, as I look back on my life, I must concede that the best times were my days in the Marine Corps and my times in Alabama. The common denominator between the two is that I was broke relative to my current financial situation.

    So, if you live simply by choice and are free from the shackles of money, then you are surely the envy of all who encounter you. As much money as Donald Trump has, he is a slave. His money defines him, and I would not want to be him for all of his money. If he lost all of his money today, he’d be a corpse tomorrow. That’s fear!

    Fortunately, I have always seen money for what it is. This understanding has protected me in so many ways. I don’t associate myself with people I don’t like, I don’t do jobs I don’t like, and I definitely don’t date golddiggers. Now, that’s freedom!

    Have you ever thought about what you’d do without money? No? Well you should. Most of Europe is already operting on a single currency, the Euro. In America, they are already pitching paperless money to us. I’m sure they are making the same pitch across seas. I must admit that, even now, I go days at a time without cash in my own pockets. It’s convenient, you whip out your debit card and you are good. But let’s imagine the whole world going paperless, and your money only being what shows up when you click your mouse. Satellites don’t transmit properly in storms, governments freeze accounts, people steal identities, and hackers hack. You could be broke at the click of a mouse. What would you do? How would you survive? Just a thought.

    Like

    • I love the point about having freedom from money. I think debt has created a slave society where people have to do certain things because they have to make a certain amount of money to keep the debt monster off your back. Once you free yourself from that thinking, you are free to take risks and say no to things and people that you don’t want in your life.
      You bring up some great points! I haven’t thought about what society would be like if we had no “real” money just virtual currency. Wow! Thanks for giving me something else to think about.
      Kesha

      Like

What do you think?

